We’re idolising the wrong kind of women

I’m currently sat on a train to London and I forgot to bring my book with me so I decided to write this post. I’ve been thinking about it for quite a while and I thought it was time I addressed this topic because it’s really bugging me (surprise surprise. We all know how easily irritated I am. 😂)

Yesterday was International Women’s Day. Something that I actually think is pretty cool, even though I’m not really into feminism. A day to recognise all the great women throughout history and celebrate everything they’ve done. But what was the one topic I kept coming back to all over the internet and social media? Kim Kardashian dropping ANOTHER naked selfie.

Let me get one thing straight: I don’t really care if she wants to post nudes. It’s not something I would do, I don’t really know why you’d want strangers to see you half naked on the internet. Whatever. What bugs me is that THIS was the major news, and it was all anyone could talk about.

There are so many women out there who do so many great things. While I will give Kim Kardashian her dues and say she’s a great businesswoman, what is she doing for mankind? Posting naked selfies and bringing out a clothing line is not something that should be being celebrated or coveted. As a humanitarian, I see women (and men) dedicating their entire lives to helping those less fortunate, campaigning for peace, women’s rights, charities, etc etc. But no. The trending topic was Kim’s selfie.

Reality TV is the devil. Stupid shows like “ex on the beach” mean it’s possible to get famous for doing pretty much nothing. And I see people on Twitter saying how much they love these people, they want to be just like them, etc. WHY?

I’d love to see people like Annalynne McCord get more recognition for the work they do. Sadly, these days our brains are being fried by trash TV. People will sell their souls to get their 5 minutes of fame and I can only see it getting worse.

Leave a Reply

