How, where and why I write

I know probably every blogger says this and it’s a bit of a cliché but for me, writing comes as naturally to me as breathing. I’ve been writing ever since I could hold a pen. English was my favourite subject at school and I dreamed of becoming a writer one day. I’m a realist though, and the older I got I realised I didn’t really have the discipline for it. To have to work to a deadline would start to make it feel like a chore for me. Blogging allows me to write about what I want, when I want, without having any added pressures.

I write every day. I don’t make blog posts every day but I always write something down. I usually get ideas for topics to write about in the daytime and I have to write them down so I don’t forget. I usually write in the evenings after my son has gone to bed and I make my blog posts then because more people are online to read them. I do most of my posts from my phone – it’s quicker and easier, but sometimes I like to write with a pen and paper. I find it’s actually easier when you want to read back and make changes to have it there in front of you in ink. I write at home, on the sofa next to my window but my favourite time for writing is when I’m on a long train journey. I’m going to London next week so hopefully then I’ll have some fresh ideas to start talking about!

I don’t think I’ll ever stop writing. Whilst I like the fact that people are reading it I do it mainly for myself. I love the process of getting my thoughts on paper and seeing the finished product of what I’m doing. I think everyone has something like this – not necessarily writing but some kind of creative process to use as an outlet for what you’re feeling that day. At least, I think everyone should have one. I’d encourage everyone to pick up a pen one day and just write whatever comes into your head – you don’t have to show it to anyone but it’s amazing what you discover about yourself when you just sit down and write. ☺

Leave a Reply

