Book review: In a Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

It’s been a while since I enjoyed a thriller this much. To be honest, this book was a bit of a surprise. From the cover and the description I thought it was going to be some sort of horror story, but actually it’s more of a fast paced murder mystery. This didn’t stop me liking it any less, though.

The story is about Nora, a writer and bit of a loner who receives an invitation to a hen party from her ex best friend Clare. Nora hasn’t seen Clare for 10 years and curiosity gets the better of her, so she decides to go along. The reason why Clare invited her is slowly revealed and things take a turn for the worse one night in the isolated cabin they are staying at.

I can’t quite put my finger on what I liked so much about this book. It was fast paced and fairly short for a novel, so all the action was packed into it really well. The character of Nina was great and reminded me a lot of myself. My only niggle with the book was Nora herself. Without giving away too many spoilers, I can’t believe someone would still be mooning over the same guy they went out with at age 16. I just didn’t find that bit believable so that’s why I’m giving the book 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

