Gym – feel the fear and do it anyway

It’s funny. I have the “timehop” app on my phone where I can look back at my past Facebook and twitter posts. One popped up the other day and apparently 3 years ago I made a post saying “life’s too short to go to the gym.” I laugh now because I go to the gym 5 times a week, it’s such a huge part of my life and I love it.

A lot of people I speak to say that they’d like to join a gym but they feel too self conscious to do so. I was EXACTLY like that when I first started. Ok, I’ve never been overweight but I was weak. I mean REALLY weak. It’s ok if you’re just going there to run on the treadmill for an hour but I wanted to do weightlifting, serious weightlifting. I had absolutely zero in the way of physical strength and when I started I couldn’t even squat with any plates on the bar because it was too heavy.

I felt like an idiot on my second gym visit. The first one was ok – everyone gets a personal trainer on their first visit to show them the equipment and help them make a bit of a plan. But there were so many different exercises I wanted to try that we hadn’t covered them all and I was wandering around like an idiot, hoping I was doing it right.

In the end, I thought screw it. I walked up to someone and asked to be shown everything. It’s that simple. Honestly, most people will be happy to help you.

My gym is very male oriented and I’m one of an EXTREMELY limited female population who uses the weights area. I felt like an absolute tool at first in front of all these meat heads but after a while I stopped caring. And to be honest, no one is watching you work out anyway. Sure, there will be the occasional idiot who fancies themselves and likes to look down on people but fuck them. If you really want to give it a go don’t let anything hold you back. You can do it ☺

Leave a Reply

