Fate

This is something I’ve been thinking about a LOT lately, even more so after reading “The Versions of Us”. Fate, this big crazy idea that our lives are mapped out for us, destined: that “everything happens for a reason.”

I’ve always hated the idea of fate. I don’t like the thought – some big invisible “unknown” is moving us all around like pieces on a chessboard; that it doesn’t matter what you do because your life is already planned out for you. I lived by the motto “choice not chance determines destiny.” I am my own person and MY decisions influence my life, not anyone else’s. I was always frustrated by people who just drift along in life, not taking any responsibility, just WAITING for things to happen.

But lately I’ve become more open to the idea of fate. A couple of things have happened in my life that have made me wonder if some things really are meant to be; that your path will always bring you back to the same place. For example, the university that gave me an unconditional offer was one I wasn’t even going to apply for in the first place because I thought I wouldn’t get in. I literally just put it in there to make up numbers. But the more I researched it, the more it made sense and I kind of feel like it was meant to be.

I’m not the kind of person that would be a complete slave to the idea of fate. I like to think I have a say in my own destiny. But I’m definitely starting to think that some things do happen for a reason. Maybe being a bit more laid back isn’t always such a bad thing. ☺

Leave a Reply

