Book review: The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

I read a couple of reviews before I started this book where people said they found it hard to keep track of all the different characters in the different versions of the story, so I thought I’d struggle a bit but I actually found it fairly easy going!

So. This book was a choice for one of my book clubs. It tells the story of Eva and Jim, two Cambridge students who meet in the 1950s and spans the course of their lives from there. The book is told in three different versions, for three different series of events.

I found the concept of the book interesting and the big question – how much are our lives really ruled by “fate” – is explored in the three different stories. I can understand how the way the book is set out why people get confused – the three different versions are all a bit of a mish-mash, not necessarily one after the other. I’m glad the author only stuck to three versions as I think any more definitely would make it too difficult to read.

As for the plot, it was your fairly typical love story – the trials and tribulations of a married couple and their families. I liked the book even though it was a little slow at times, and it got me thinking a lot about the “what ifs” of life. 4/5 stars and I’d probably read other works by this author.

Leave a Reply

