Book review: The Bones of You by Debbie Howells

OK. I have a big problem with thrillers, in that I usually guess the ending pretty early in. Once you’ve eliminated the obvious suspects then it’s usually pretty clear. A lot of the time this means thrillers are ruined for me, although I still love reading them. With this one, I’d figured out who the killer was about a third of the way into the book.

The Bones of You tells the story of Rosie, a nice girl from a middle class family who is found stabbed to death in the middle of the woods. It’s the typical story – Rosie was well liked, had no enemies and was your average 18 year old. Who would want her dead?

The book is told through the eyes of Kate, another suburban mother with a daughter about Rosie’s age. We are introduced to Rosie’s neurotic mother, absent father and oddball sister and slowly we begin to get a picture of Rosie’s life and how it led up to her death.

When I say slowly, I mean slowly. I felt the story really dragged in the middle; like it was just padded out to try and make the book longer. Also, because I’d guessed the ending, it all seemed a little bit too predictable for my liking.

The book did have its positives – there were some beautiful haunting descriptive passages, and I enjoyed reading about Rosie’s life and the dark secrets that even the most perfect seeming families can be hiding. Unfortunately, I just found myself getting too frustrated with some of the characters and I didn’t particularly like any of them. I can only give this book 3/5 stars, which is a shame as from the blurb I really thought I’d love it.

Leave a Reply

