The 2016 reading challenge

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it before, but I’m a sucker for a challenge. Especially when it comes to reading. I average out a book a week and I own almost 200 (which I know I did mention before). So when I saw this particular challenge I decided it was something I thought I’d attempt. I can’t promise I’ll complete it – I’m already in 2 online book clubs, I have a “to read” list with over 500 books on it and I’m also trying to complete the “1001 books to read before you die” list, so I have a lot on, but I’m gonna give it a go!

The first book I read was “a chick lit book” (the full list is on my Instagram
@alicechamberlain_x). The book was called Baby Be Mine by Paige Toon and it was actually a sequel to a book I read a couple of years ago. Chick lit books are my guilty pleasure and I normally enjoy them but this one grated on me a bit. The book centres around Meg, who lives in France with her boyfriend Christian and her son Barney. The big secret is that Meg’s son is not Christian’s, but Johnny’s, who is a world famous rock star.

Anyway. I found Meg annoying. Letting another man think he’s the father of your child when you KNOW he’s not is vile. Johnny is an idiot and Meg is an idiot for forgiving him for taking drugs around their one year old child. Of course it all ends in happily-ever-after but I find their relationship bizarre. I mean, I know I don’t make the best choices regarding men but when it comes to my child, I’d never forgive anyone who put him in danger.

Maybe I’m a cynic. 😂 But I didn’t buy it. Hopefully the next book I read will be better!

Leave a Reply

