Happy new year! Goals/resolutions

I’ve said it about a million times already but here it is for the last time: HAPPY NEW YEAR! Hope everyone had a good one and you’re not too tired/hungover! I’m up watching Paw Patrol with Max. 😆

So it’s the first day of a new year and that means RESOLUTIONS. I know a lot of people think they’re pointless but I think going into the year with any kind of good intentions is always a good thing! I want to set goals this year instead of resolutions. Like saying “I’m gonna go to the gym every day” is probably not going to happen! I’d rather think about what I want to achieve and make the plan up as I go along. So here are my goals for 2016!

  1. Take some risks

This is something I’ve previously mentioned struggling with as I usually listen to logic rather than emotions, but I have some exciting stuff planned for this year and I’ll need to take a few risks in order to make it happen.

2. Focus

Mostly this is regarding the work I’m doing at the gym trying to weight train properly. I tend to check my phone a lot in between sets and then I lose track and just end up going through the motions. I REALLY plan to push myself this year.

3. Spend more time with friends

With my responsibilities as a mum, work, studying and the gym something has to suffer and it’s usually having any kind of social life! I’m not saying I’m gonna go out every weekend but I have friends in all different parts of the country and seeing them more often is something I really want to try and do.

4. Experience more

One of my biggest nightmares is the idea of staying in one place for the rest of my life. I want to do more with Max, travel to new places and live a bit more.

5. Take time out

This is sort of tying in with numbers 3 and 4. Often it feels like I’m always rushing around trying to get everything done. Sometimes I just want to take time out without worrying about what else I should be doing. I’m gonna try and make Sundays “our” time where me and Max just spend some lazy time.

6. Read lots

I do this anyway but I want to carry it on into this year. Reading is one of the best ways to educate yourself and it’s something I love doing.

7. Do more charity work

I work for a charity anyway but I want to start looking at more ways I can help. I’m going to apply to go on the bone marrow donor list but as I’m having surgery this month I think you have to wait 6 months after.

8. Surround myself with positivity

I used to be quite a negative person and I realise now I moaned too much. I’ve changed my attitude to live and let live, I don’t want to be negative any more and I want to keep the positive vibes going!

9. Be happy

This is the most important one on my list and should be everyone’s resolution 😊 I am definitely guilty of judging other people’s lifestyles but I’ve been trying to stop it lately. Do what makes you happy, who cares if other people don’t like it? There’s always gonna be someone who doesn’t like what you do but it’s not their life and opinions of others should be irrelevant. Live for you and no one else.

Have a wonderful new year everyone!

Leave a Reply

