Following your heart

With regards to the post I put up yesterday, I was thinking about this a lot this weekend.

I’ve always been the kind of person who listens to my head instead of my heart. I’m quite practical and I don’t really like the “unknown” – I like to know where I stand with people, that things are gonna turn out how I expect them to, etc. For years I ignored what my heart wanted because I was worried about the consequences – how would it affect me, how would the people I care about be affected. What if everything went wrong and I ended up with nothing?

This past couple of years I’ve realised that this isn’t really the right way to live. I believed I was protecting myself from everything by making the “smart” decisions but in turn I’ve lost out on a few years of my life by not doing what I really wanted.

Life honestly is TOO SHORT to not take a few risks. I’ve took risks this year with regards to my future. I’ve took risks with people. And even if things don’t work out the way I expect, I can say I followed my heart. I wouldn’t change anything I’ve done this year because it’s made me happy and that’s the most important thing. πŸ˜ƒ

“The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all.”

Leave a Reply

