Be a better person

So Christmas is approaching quickly and this time of year is quite bittersweet. My nana died a year ago on December 11th and I spent a lot of time this week thinking about what she was like. I always thought of her as the glue that held our family together, family was the most important thing to her and it’s something I really value as well. She was always so selfless as well – there was nothing she wouldn’t do for anyone else and I think I could do with being more like that.

Death is a funny thing. It makes you appreciate life more. Nana was 74 when she died which isn’t particularly old and she’s left a big gap in all our lives that won’t ever be filled. Sometimes I find myself thinking before I make decisions “what would nana think of me doing this?” I don’t know if she’d approve of every single decision I’ve ever made but I do know that she would always be there for me no matter what.

I’m trying to become a better person, kinder and less judgemental. I’m definitely not perfect and I can be harsh and sometimes self involved but I’m working on it. We should all aspire to that and I feel like I’ve done a lot of growing this year. πŸ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

