The social media disease

It’s difficult to pinpoint exactly when it happened. When social media started taking over our lives and the virtual world becomes more important than the real one.

In this day and age pretty much everyone has a smartphone. I love social media as it’s a good way for me to keep in easy contact with everyone. I like seeing what people are up to and I like posting my own pictures, tweets and statuses. But if I’m completely honest, I spend way more time on my phone than I should.

My phone notifies me whenever I get a Whatsapp, text or someone interacts with me on facebook, twitter, snapchat or instagram so I’ll often be checking it. More than one person has commented that I’m “obsessed” with my phone and I don’t want to be THAT person.

At the beginning of this year I dropped my phone in the bath and it broke. I had to go without it for about 24 hours before I got a replacement and I remember how much I hated it. What if someone was trying to message me and thought I was ignoring them? What if I missed something important? Then the other day I thought to myself, what on earth could be more important to me than anything in my real life – my son and my family and friends.

I don’t want to be the mum ignoring her child while she sits on her phone, or the person that can’t hold a conversation with a friend because she’s talking to people she doesn’t even care about online. The other day I turned off all the notifications to my social medias to remove the temptation to check my phone so often. As of now I’m making a conscientious effort to ONLY use it when I’m on my own and I’m not with family or friends. Not only is it rude, I think it’s actually soul killing. I’ve never been someone who gives a damn what strangers think about me, so why do I go on social media so much? It stops now. Time for me to enjoy the real world with the real amazing people I have in it ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

