Last week’s diet and training

I said I was gonna keep a food and training diary this week just so I can look back on it and also to show people how I’m trying to bulk over the winter. I meant to post this on Sunday but I haven’t had the best few days and I forgot, so here it is now:

Monday

6.30am – hot water and lemon, multivitamins

7am (breakfast) – 1 cup of oats with full fat milk, raspberries & blueberries. 3 egg whites.

9.30am – 1 pot greek yogurt with honey

12pm (lunch) – chicken breast, cous cous & spinach

1.30pm (pre workout) – 1 slice wholemeal toast with peanut butter, 1 banana

3.30pm (post workout) – whey protein shake with creatine, glutamine & casein

5.30pm (dinner) – turkey breast, broccoli & raw carrot

7.30pm – green tea

9pm – 2 rice cakes with almond butter

Training (legs/glutes) – 4×12 squats, 4×12 kneeling squats, 4×12 cable kickbacks (each leg), 4×12 hip thrusts, 4×12 glute extensions with dumbbells (each leg).

Tuesday

6.30am – see Monday

7am – see Monday

9.30am – see Monday

12pm (lunch) – salmon fillet, brown rice and kale

1.30pm – see Monday

3.30pm – see Monday

5.30pm – homemade turkey mince burgers, sweet potato wedges and salad

7.30pm – see Monday

9pm – see Monday

Training (arms all rounder) – 4×12 dumbbell curls, 4×12 rope curls, 4×12 lying tricep extensions, 4×12 dumbbell wrist curls, 4×12 assisted dips

Wednesday (rest day)

6.30am – see Monday

7am (breakfast) – 3 egg omelette, spinach and mushrooms

9.30am – 1 pot greek yogurt with honey, apple slices & cinammon

12pm (lunch) – turkey steak, sweet potato wedges & kale

2.30pm – banana, whey protein shake

5.30pm (dinner) – salmon fillet with roasted veg

7.30pm – see Monday

9pm – see Monday

Thursday

6.30am – see Monday

7am – see Monday

9.30am – see Monday

12pm – see Monday

1.30pm – see Monday

3.30pm – see Monday

5.30pm – same dinner as Tuesday

7.30pm – see Monday

9pm – see Monday

Training (back and shoulders) – 4×12 Arnold dumbbell press, 4×12 seated dumbbell shoulder press, 4×12 cable seated lateral raises, 4×12 one arm dumbbell rows (each arm), 4×12 pulldowns, 4×12 assisted pull ups

Friday

6.30am – see Monday

7am – see Monday

9.30am – see Monday

12pm (lunch) – turkey steak, brown rice & spinach

1.30pm – see Monday

3.30pm – see Monday

5pm (dinner) – chicken breast stir fried with cabbage, kale, mushrooms, beansprouts & carrot

7.30pm – see Monday

9pm – see Monday

Training (legs) – 4×12 leg extensions, 4×12 leg curls, 4×12 leg press, 4×12 deadlifts, 4×12 barbell lunges

Saturday

6.30am – see Monday

7am – see Monday

9.30am – see Monday

12pm (lunch) – 1 tin of tuna, sweet potato jacket & salad

1.30pm – see Monday

3.30pm – see Monday

5.30pm (dinner) – grilled turkey bacon, mushrooms, poached eggs

7.30pm – see Monday

9pm – see Monday

Training (abs and calves) – 4×12 hanging leg raise, 4×12 crunches, 1 minute plank, 4×12 standing calf raises

Sunday (rest day)

6.30am – see Monday

7am (breakfast) – pancakes made with 2 egg whites, 1 whole egg, 1 banana, 1 scoop chocolate protein

9.30am – see Monday

12pm (lunch) – salmon fillet, cous cous & spinach

2.30pm – grapes & 1 rice cake with almond butter

6pm (cheat meal) – Dominos pizza, garlic bread, chicken kickers

8pm (cheat meal) – Ben & Jerry’s cookie dough ice cream

This isn’t an easy diet to sustain. It requires a lot of preparation especially if you’re out all day. It’s tricky to keep it from getting boring and trying to find seasonings that are suitable for this diet. It’s also expensive, the cost of the supplements is insane although usually I try and find a deal on (men’s health magazine usually has money off vouchers inside 😂). I did have a couple of slip ups on Friday night (I had some chocolate and crisps) but it’s part of being human and I went straight back to normal on Saturday morning.

I want to note as well that I do hardly any cardio. I do 5 minutes on the rowing machine before I work out but that’s literally it. I don’t like cardio and I’ve been told I don’t need to do it as my body type doesn’t need it. What’s suitable for me isn’t necessarily suitable for everyone else, but I wanted to write this down just to give an example of what I do towards my training goals. I’m hoping this is gonna do it 😃

Leave a Reply

