The struggle to gain weight

I wanted to post this because it’s a bit of a controversial issue and it’s one that not many people think about. I see a lot of my facebook friends talk about wanting to lose weight, joining gyms and weight watchers etc. My problem is the opposite and I think a lot of people don’t realise that for someone like me it’s actually very difficult to gain weight.

I’ve always been really slim and petite ever since I was a child. I’m not sure why – I don’t know if it’s down to genetics although no one else in my family is as small as me. Sometimes I suspect I’ve got an overactive thyroid although I’ve not been diagnosed with anything. I know what people are going to say – “why are you complaining, loads of people would love to be slim” blah blah. I get that and don’t get me wrong, I like having a flat stomach especially after having a baby but on the whole it’s annoying. I hate having twiglet legs and I HATE people who feel the need to make comments like “don’t you eat” etc. I look at myself in pictures next to my friends and worry that I look unhealthy. I also get worried about my BMI dropping – I’m not underweight but I’m not far off and I don’t want to be at the unhealthy stage. Of course I eat, anyone who knows me knows I eat. I just don’t put on weight easy, just like some people who are bigger do put it on easy, it’s that simple.

I did gain weight after I had Max. In 2013/14 I was about 2 stone heavier than I am now. But the weight pretty much all went on my stomach, arms and face which is not where you want it to go. Also that weight gain was achieved in a really unhealthy way – basically by sitting at home most of the day and eating junk. And when I say junk I mean by 9am I’d have had sugary cereal, 8 biscuits with my tea and a latte with some kind of syrup in it (and I’d carry on like this all day).

My goal now is to gain weight and muscle the healthy way. I have been training since September but I feel like I’m not pushing myself enough and if you want to see change you have to really work for it. Tomorrow I’m starting a new diet diet and training plan with weight gain in mind and at the end of the week I’ll post what I’ve done daily. Sometimes you really have to dedicate yourself to what you want in life and it’s time I started. Bring it on 😊

Leave a Reply

