Oversharing on social media

Being very active on Facebook and twitter, oversharing is something I see quite a lot. As soon as a couple breaks up or friends have an argument they’re on social media bitching about each other for the world to see. I’m sure I’ve been guilty of oversharing myself in the past but I saw a meme the other day that said “keep your sex life, income and your next move private” which I honestly think is one of the best things I’ve read. One thing I won’t be talking about on this blog is relationships as I don’t think it’s fair to the other person to be scrutinised when they haven’t agreed to it. Only a few friends know who I’m seeing and I plan to keep it that way.

I read some things on social media and think “WHY would you tell the world that?” I think what it comes down to in the end is wanting attention. Everyone wants to be noticed but I think we should all try and limit ourselves as to what we share – I got asked the other day why I don’t put many pictures of my son on twitter. The reason for that is because he’s 2 years old and the world doesn’t need to know where he is every minute of the day.

My biggest – and I mean BIGGEST – pet hate is when separated parents start slagging each other off on social media. I fully understand that it’s a horrible situation and having the world think the other party is a perfect parent when they’re not might be frustrating. I certainly don’t always see eye to eye with Carl! But I always said from the minute we broke up that I’d never resort to social media bitching. I took this leaf out of my mum’s book – obviously there was no social media back then but I never heard her say a bad word about my dad around me (and believe me, she had way more reasons to slag him off than most people). Once it’s on social media, it’s there forever and it’s not fair on the children.

Nobody is perfect. We all get angry. But it gets dangerous when we start bitching online. We should all stop and think before we write that post – “will I regret saying that later?” I’m including myself in this 😆 social media is wonderful to keep people updated on everything that’s happening in our lives. But honestly, some things should be kept private.

Leave a Reply

